Learn about

Stephanie Mendoza

My name is Stephanie Mendoza (pronouns: she/her/hers and ella), and I’m running to be the next Evanston City Clerk.

Stephanie believes that good government starts with good practices. As a nonprofit leader and small business owner, she has the perspective to recognize the importance of consistent, unwavering attention to detail. She’s running for Clerk to better serve Evanston’s diverse, multilingual community access the records and services it needs.

The daughter of immigrants and the first person in her family to graduate from college, Stephanie raised her family and worked full-time while earning her undergraduate degree, eventually starting a successful local business with her husband that they continue to operate today. Some of the truly wonderful community organizations in Evanston were key in helping her succeed, including the Childcare Network of Evanston, Infant Welfare Society, and Reba Early Learning Center.

Her experience inspired Stephanie to serve in several community service roles, including Policy Council President for the Childcare Network of Evanston, Reba Early Learning Center Board President, and as an interpreter for District 65 schools. Currently, she serves as Director of Community Outreach for Evanston Latinos, which promotes equity and inclusion for the immigrant, undocumented community, mixed-status families and Latinx community in Evanston. Stephanie also recently served as a Prevention Specialist for Connections for the Homeless, where she works with individuals and families struggling with housing.

Stephanie is a 9th ward resident and has lived in Evanston for 10 years, with her husband Edwin and 3 children: Emir (10), Sahir (8), and Alina (16 months).

Proudly endorsed by

Endorsed by Membership of Democratic Party of Evanston
Independent Voters of Illinois-Independent Precinct Organization
Evanston Fight for Black Lives
Our Revolution - Evanston Chapter
Mayor-Elect Daniel Biss
Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky
Congressman Jesús G. "Chuy" García
State Senator Laura Fine
State Representative Robyn Gabel
State Representative Jen Gong Gershowitz
Toni Preckwinkle Cook County Board President
Cook County Board Commissioner Larry Suffredin
MWRD Commissioner Cam Davis
MWRD Commissioner Josina Morita
Jan Schakowsky Political Director Ben Head
Robyn Gabel Chief of Staff Christian Sorensen